Cava has its origins in the Penedés wine region, but for historical reasons it can also be found in other parts of our geography where Cava can be made.

In fact, the Ebro Valley area encompasses the Cava vineyards located in the northernmost part of the Denomination of Origin and are territories characterized by the proximity and influence of the Ebro River. Mendavia and Viana are the only municipalities in Navarra where Cava can be made.

Area of Navarra covered by the Cava designation

In Navarra, there are two municipalities which belong to the Cava production area: Mendavia and Viana. 


Zona amparada Cava D.O Navarra
Características cava DO Navarra


Cava has its origins in the Penedés (Catalonia) wine-growing area, and particularly in the municipality of San Sadurní d’Anoia, known as the capital of Cava, and surrounding area. However, for historical reasons, there are also municipalities in other areas where Cava can be made. A total of four different areas can be defined to better identify the specific territories of the Cava Designation of Origin: Comtats de Barcelona, Valle del Ebro, Viñedos de Almendralejo and Zona de Levante.

The geographical breadth of the Designation of Origin makes for a much more enriching experience when enjoying a glass of Cava, tasting the nuances that each terroir brings and the qualities of the microclimate from which each wine comes.


D.O. Cava

Vino D.O. Navarra

La Denominación de Origen Navarra comercializa vinos jóvenes, roble, crianza, reserva, gran Reserva y dulce Natural; y las variedades autorizadas son: Garnacha, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Graciano, Tempranillo, Syrah y Pinot Noir para los tintos; Chardonnay, Malvasía, Garnacha Blanca, Viura, Sauvignon Blanc y Moscatel de Grano Menudo para los vinos blancos.


Más información:

Consejos de compra Cordero de Navarra

4 personas
4 horas y 40 minutos